Lift Vault Forum

Phul program plateau and motivation loss

Hello i’m new to this program, i started phul 4 weeks ago and this last week i became less motivated during the workouts and i noticed a decrease in strenght. I achieved the overreaching or no? What could have happened? Thanks

1 Like

I would de-load if I were you. From what I see online, though, you’re only meant to need to de-load on PHUL every 12 weeks, so make sure you’re eating/sleeping enough, and consider reducing the number of sets per exercise you’re doing.

I find strange that is overreaching considering that have passed only 4 weeks and i didn’t change the program at all(only 1 exercise).
The intensity and the volume were the ones that were recommended in the schedule so it can’t be that. I’m eating and sleeping enough, only the caloric surplus maybe is a bit little, i’m at 100-150 + my TDEE.
Let me know what is your opinion, thank you.

Sounds like you’re doing a good job with recovery.
If you’re doing lots of difficult cardio, that could affecting you.
I don’t know what PHUL prescribes for intensity/difficulty — how many reps from failure are you on each set?
I agree that your caloric surplus could maybe be a little higher, depending on your goals. To me, the best way to judge your food intake is by the amount you’re growing.

• Are you running the 4 day version (classic) or 6 day PPL version (modified)?
  • What’s your age/height/weight?
  • What’s your training history like? Have you run other programs before / what are your current maxes (could be 1RM or any rep max, like a 5RM)?
  • Are you hitting the upper end of the set and rep ranges, the lower end, or does it vary?
  • Are you stalling on all lifts or only some?
  • @000 made a good point - are you gaining/maintaining/losing weight?

Also, for what it’s worth, here is a suggested modification from Brandon Campbell, the guy who wrote the program.